An Artistic Break with Encaustics

blog version of encaustic
Today I took a little break and spent the day playing in hot wax! I have been fascinated with encaustics (an art form using hot wax and pigment) for a while and finally took a workshop from the Atlanta encaustic artist, Penny Treese (www.pennytreese.com). I made the picture for my studio to remind me to play when painting and see mistakes as opportunities. The photo is me and my cousin and captures the childhood ability to just love life at the moment and even act a little goofy. Penny was an excellent teacher (as well as Kim, her assistant) and I can’t wait to do more experiments with hot wax!
(I asked her about using this technique on a purse but it seemed a little too complicated for our purposes).

Leave a Reply

