Second Purse Finished–Help Me Decide?

Sometimes we don’t need to know all the answers, we just need to START. I started this project trusting that the answers would come if I would just begin. The Purses Project has been an exciting journey into social media, blogging and new art techniques. I still have a long way to go, but I learn something new every day by people sharing their advice and knowledge via blogs, videos, podcasts, twitter, etc.

I currently have a handful of women in the process of making purses for their significant female lost to cancer. I’ve tried to be their faithful guide/encourager through the process but I realized I had a problem. The purse I created for my grandmother was a wooden cigar box purse and NOT the typical leather purse that most women are using for the project. The beauty of this project is there is no right or wrong way to do the purses, but I still felt like I needed to try my hand at painting a leather purse.

Goodwill purse

Goodwill purse

I decided to paint a leather purse so I could know first hand how leather would respond to paint, mediums, glues, etc. Here’s the second purse I created in memory of my grandmother for The Purses Project.

mixed media/altered purse by Jamie Howell for The Purses Project

mixed media/altered purse by Jamie Howell for The Purses Project

This purse has some of the same references as the first purse but there are new images like her car (vintage Falcon), hand stitching, and the powder puffs from the Coty face powder that used to sit on her makeup table. I didn’t add as many photos of her but added more objects that reflect who she was.

Detail of portrait. Mixed media/altered art purse by Jamie Howell for The Purses Project

Detail of portrait. Mixed media/altered art purse by Jamie Howell for The Purses Project

I learned a lot by painting this leather purse and will detail some of the how-to’s in next week’s posts. But first, I need your help–I like both purses, each for different reasons and can’t decide which one to use for the project.

My completed purse for The Purses Project (Jamie Howell)

My completed purse for The Purses Project (Jamie Howell)

mixed media/altered purse by Jamie Howell for The Purses Project

mixed media/altered purse by Jamie Howell for The Purses Project

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS? WHICH PURSE DO YOU LIKE? Purse 1 or Purse 2?
I appreciate your time to comment

Leave a Reply

