In the Art Studio: Mixed Media Art Inspired by The Purses Project

Detail of painted purse on Her Story Matters, mixed media painting by Jamie Howell

Detail of painted purse on Her Story Matters, mixed media painting by Jamie Howell


Over the weekend, I turned on some tunes with Spotify and painted my heart out! It was a fun combination of mixed media, Mumford & Sons blaring and paint splattering. I worked on several different canvases over the weekend, some are finished but many are still a work in progress. I did complete a set of whimsical painted birds (Sing & Soar) and a 12×12 mixed media painting of a purse inspired by (of course) The Purses Project. The painting, Her Story Matters, is a visual reminder of the true purpose of The Purses Project; to share her story (the life story of women lost to cancer) through the creative efforts of her loved ones. In sharing and creating, we can change the story of cancer and grief.
Here’s a few photos of my weekend in the art studio:
Her Story Matters, Mixed Media painting by Jamie Howell

Her Story Matters, Mixed Media painting by Jamie Howell


The purse painting combined acrylic paint, scrapbook papers, book pages and bits of my grandmother’s vintage lace slips
lace detail of Her Story Matters, mixed media painting by Jamie Howell

lace detail of Her Story Matters, mixed media painting by Jamie Howell


Sing & Soar, mixed media painting by Jamie Howell

Sing & Soar, mixed media painting by Jamie Howell


detail of Soar, mixed media on canvas by Jamie Howell

detail of Soar, mixed media on canvas by Jamie Howell


I’m also working on an altered book so while the purse painting was drying, I ran over and put gesso on the book pages.
Gesso prepares the altered book for painting

Gesso prepares the altered book for painting


My paint palette

My paint palette


I so love my little studio and the freedom it gives me to create. Most of all, being in my art studio makes me feel energized and alive. I hope today you have a place and a time when you create something that makes your heart full. Your studio could be in a kitchen, your backyard project, a classroom or the nursing home you visit. Your unique touch in even the simple things, can make all the difference.

Many thanks for your time with me today.

Live Creatively,
Jamie

2 thoughts on “In the Art Studio: Mixed Media Art Inspired by The Purses Project

Leave a Reply

